The Medical Cannabis Initiatives are on the ballot on November 6, 2018.
There are three initiatives that would legalize cannabis for medical purposes and allow state-licensed physicians to recommend cannabis use to patients with certain qualifying conditions. The competing initiatives all qualified for the ballot, and voters will get to vote yes or no on each one:
- The measure would tax the sale of medical cannabis at 4 percent and allocate revenue from the tax toward providing healthcare services for military veterans.
- The measure would tax cannabis sales at 15 percent. Revenue from the tax would be used to fund a Biomedical Research and Drug Development Institute, tasked with researching cures for currently incurable diseases.
- The measure would enact a 2 percent sales tax on cannabis and dedicate revenue to veterans’ services, drug treatment, education, and public safety.
Oklahoma State Question 788, the Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, was approved on June 26, 2018.
Oklahoma State Question 788, the Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, was passed by voters during the June 26, 2018 primary. The online application process for medical marijuana licenses went live on the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority’s website on August 24, 2018.
The measure required no specific qualifying conditions to receive medical marijuana. The measure allowed people with licenses to possess up to 3 ounces of marijuana on their person and 8 ounces of marijuana in their residence. A 7 percent tax was levied on marijuana sales, with revenue allocated to administrative costs, education, and drug and alcohol rehabilitation. The measure required licenses to operate dispensaries, commercial growing operations, and processing operations. The measure prohibited municipalities from restricting zoning laws to prevent marijuana dispensaries.
Utah Proposition 2, the Medical Cannabis Initiative is on the ballot on November 6, 2018.
The measure would legalize the medical use of cannabis for individuals with qualifying medical illnesses. The title used by proponents and by state officials for this initiative is Utah Medical Cannabis Act.
The state Department of Health would start issuing medical cards no later than March 1, 2020. The initiative would allow for the licensing of cannabis cultivation facilities, processing facilities, testing laboratories, and dispensaries. The measure would restrict the number of dispensaries by the number of residents in a county divided by 150,000 and rounded up to the greatest whole number, about 20.
Michigan Proposal 1, the Marijuana Legalization Initiative, is on the ballot in Michigan as an indirect initiated state statute on November 6, 2018.
Proposal 1 was designed to allow adults aged 21 years or older to possess and use marijuana for recreational purposes. Individuals would be permitted to grow up to 12 marijuana plants in their residences. The measure would create an excise sales tax of 10 percent, which would be levied on marijuana sales at retailers and microbusinesses.
On August 13, 2018, the measure was certified for the ballot.
Measure 3, the Marijuana Legalization and Automatic Expungement Initiative, was designed to legalize the recreational use of marijuana in the state of North Dakota for people 21 years of age or older. The measure would also create penalties for the possession or distribution to or by any individuals under 21 years of age. Additionally, the measure would create an automatic expungement process for individuals with convictions for a controlled substance that has been legalized and eliminate the state of North Dakota’s immunity from damages resulting from expungement lawsuits.
The Ohio Marijuana Legalization Initiative may appear on the ballot in Ohio as an initiated constitutional amendment on November 5, 2019.
The measure would legalize the use, possession, and sale of cannabis for persons age 21 or older in Ohio. The measure would authorize the Ohio General Assembly to enact a tax on retail sales of cannabis.
Vermont legalized cannabis possession by an act of the state legislature, and signed by the governor, on January 22, 2018.
The state house voted on January 4, 2018 to pass H.511, an amended version of the 2017 bill. The bill legalized adult personal possession of one ounce of cannabis and allows individuals to cultivate two plants. The senate passed the bill by voice vote on January 10, 2018, and was signed by the Governor Scott on January 22, becoming “An act relating to eliminating penalties for possession of limited amounts of marijuana by adults 21 years of age or older”; its provisions have taken effect as of July 1, 2018.